in a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport

In most developed and developing countries, demand for public transportation has grown dramatically. Some people argue that it is necessary to construct new railway lines to solve traffic issues, while others say that money should be spent on improving existing public transport. A discussion of this issue, as well as my opinion, will be highlighted in this write-up. On the one hand, constructing new railway lines is one of the solutions to solve congested traffic problems. Nowadays, in many countries, there are many different railway lines such as high-speed rail, SkyTrain, and light rail. All of these methods can deal with long-distance movement and commuting in urban areas. For example, in Taiwan, high-speed rail has noticeably decreased travel time between Taipei and Kaohsiung. While it can reduce the number of cars traveling between the two cities, therefore, it is a more eco-friendly and convenient way to solve heavy traffic. On the other hand, a large number of people think that existing public transport needs to be improved, as it does not require as much money as constructing a new network. In addition, it can encourage people to use public transport, which can help reduce fossil fuel emissions. For instance, in some Asian countries such as Japan, Korea, and Taiwan, we can see one lane on the road that belongs specifically to public transport. As a result, it can considerably reduce commute time and encourage people to use it. In conclusion, although I agree that building new railway lines may reduce the load on other transport modes, a comprehensive urban traffic system is a permanent solution for every country.