Some people believe that countries should produce the food to feed their population themselves and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals advocate an idea that states should provide to the citizens products produced locally and reduce import as much as possible. I generally disagree with the idea of concentrating on domestically produced food. Firstly, many countries do not have enough internal resources to cover the requirement entirely. Secondly, focusing only on the national capabilities, the nation will not be able to secure the product safety due to several possible reasons, such as floods, hurricanes, drought and the seasonal risks. There are two key ideas, the lack of resources and security risks will be considered in the following paragraphs. To begin with, some states have the limited internal capacity of water, fertile soil or wealthy fauna. In this case, hardly ever enough to cover even the general domestic interest for food and products. As an example, Japan and South Korea have developed agriculture, meat and fish production infrastructures. Nevertheless, these states encountered the necessity of importing a wide range of products to cover internal demand due to the amount and density of population, and lack of enough space even for the food production industries with modern technologies. On the other hand, even for countries with numerous options able to cover local requirement, focusing on product independence is - risky way. Because many factors can affect the harvesting and the performance of business industries involved in the product supply chain. For instance, unpredictable floods in the north regions of Kazakhstan in 2024 had a huge negative impact on local farmers. Even though insurance can save businesses faced with technogenical desasters, these destructive events could have an irreparable impact on national food safety and stability. In conclusion, the aim of some countries to focus only on the local production of food to entirely cover an internal demand could be very risky. As an option, developing internal natural and business resources combined with the pragmatic import could be the best solution for some countries.