More and more people no longer read newspapers. They get news about the world through the Internet. Do you think it is a negative or positive development?

Nowadays, individuals read the news using their mobile phones instead of reading the newspapers. I believe that this is a positive development, and in this essay, I will explain why. There are various reasons why people prefer using their phone to know what is going on around the world. One major reason is the fast access; unlike in the past, when people went to shops to buy and read newspapers, which took time, now they can read the news once it is out rather than waiting. Secondly, convenience: people now can read anywhere, for example, in bed, at work or in the metro. Also, all of these acts happen while using a small machine (the phone) instead of carrying large, heavy papers. Thirdly, the internet offers and allows people to interact and discuss the news articles between the users, such as commenting and liking feedback. Furthermore, we are in the world of speed and change in technology, so following old habits can make a person's life slow and not keep up with the others, which reduces the quality of living, and that is why I consider this trend positive. In addition to that, this trend can help people get to understand other cultures better and change their perspective since the internet provides news from different parts of the world; for example, reading an article about food in Kenya while living in Germany. To conclude, although that reading of the phones can cause eye strain, they offer recent updates and a variety of sources in comparison to the newspapers.