The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the healthcare system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physcial education lessons in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The increasing obesity is considered detrimental for the functioning of the health care system as the medical sector must cope with its numerous consequences. It is considered that the most effective method of handling that issue would be to provide the schools with extra physical education classes. From my point of view, this solution would help the healthcare industry, but there is a possibility that it could cause the opposite effect. One evident benefit to adding more sports lessons in schools is that the children and adolescents would be obliged by the curriculum to be more active, hence spending more time moving and exercising. Some teenagers tend to spend a lot of their time playing computer games in a sitting position, so those extra classes would really benefit them. Secondly, it is common for those who developed a passion for sport in their childhood to then continue the active lifestyle throughout the rest of their life, hence decreasing the possibility of being overweight in adulthood. On the other hand, it could cause a different effect, with pupils opposed to additional physical activities. In other words, they would avoid these lessons even more, trying to think of a number of excuses not to attend them. Teenagers have a strong sense of independence, and when something is forced upon them, they tend to get angry and rebel against the rules and do not perform the task given. As a result, schools’ physical education lessons’ attendance could drop even more, putting society’s health at risk and increasing the chance of obesity, which is not the goal. In conclusion, more physical education during school would benefit the medical institutions, nevertheless, it could have drawbacks. Certainly, for most children, this would result in a higher physical activity during the week, decreasing the possible weight problems in the future. Yet, for some, such as teenagers, this idea could cause rebellion and discourage them from any physical activity whatsoever, posing a serious threat to their health in the long term.