In recent years, responsible tourists have paid attention to preserving both the culture and the environment of the place they visit. However, some people say that it is impossible to be a responsible tourist. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A respect to the way of living, customs, and environment of certain nations, they are considered more as an important part of tourism. Conversely, a few say that responsible tourism is barely achievable. Thus, I strongly agree that visiting another country can not just be enjoyable, but also safe for its traditions and environment via checking information beforehand to know the contexts and having personal moral principles. To begin with, each country has its own unwritten rules, and they are usually based on traditions, behaviour, and taboos. By knowing them, people can show respect to a country of visit as a basic human right, not intruding on the order of things locals are used to. For example, before visiting Japan, tourists had better be still in the metro as locals do and learn basic phrases in Japanese only because Japanese people have rooted these aspects of their life due to a historical context. And, breaking these rules, locals may become hostile to foreigners. Moreover, it is a personal accountability of people to have proper manners. Thus, oversorting garbage in South Korea, steering away streets from being contaminated, which to individuals from other countries might seem a bit odd. By these small efforts, South Korea has preserved mass and stunning mountain landscapes. On top of that, while travelling, tourists oftentimes throw their rubbish in the area of historical relics, thus demeaning not only monuments, but also the culture of the visiting country. I think people need to be more cautious, when exploring other states due to unanticipated settings they can encounter. And, standing respectfully, even overdoing such behaviour would be treated badly by the locals. On the other way around, some still believe that it is impossible to be respectful in another part of the world due to their own biases about people and the country as a whole. A blissful unawareness can mislead people in different contexts. This is the reason why they tend to revert to their home country behaviour. To nutshell the aforementioned, I firmly consent that being polite to both culture and environment depends on personal biases and awareness that people can expand prior to visiting foreign places. Such preparedness gives a more positive experience of a trip for tourists themselves and locals as well.