More and more young people do weekend or part-time jobs while at secondary school. Is this a good idea or should young people focus exclusively on their school work? Write an essay in which you analyse the consequences of having a part-time job on a person’s education and their career prospects.

It is popular with students to enter the job market at a young age. However, this is likely to cause problems with their school program. While some consider taking up a new skill during their part-time activity, others decide to put all their eggs into one basket and sit exams in case they get better grades. Nevertheless, I believe that solely having an urge to do an apprenticeship cannot reflect on assessments. On the one hand, part-time jobs help students improve their career prospects. Doing specific tasks day in, day out would develop their skills, which would be beneficial for them in future. For instance, my sister has been working as a receptionist on a day-to-day basis. Due to this experience, she had learned how to use multiple apps and tools, how to stay organised and stable in any unexpected situation. Such abilities help her to cope with significant difficulties. Furthermore, an apprenticeship can matter when students struggle to find their niche. It helps to identify their strengths and weaknesses in order to determine the most appropriate and lucrative career for them. It happened to my friend, who has taken up a part-time job connected to the hotel business. As soon as she managed to attend this work, her employer analysed her personality and advised her to develop definite skills. After that, she reached her full potential and applied to the university’s faculty in the same sphere. On the other hand, working a lot and studying hard could lead to burnout. Trainees are tied up with assignments, and it is not always possible for them to get everything done by a deadline. Surely, it suddenly becomes tedious, and students have to put their part-time job off. For example, my brother had to quit his apprenticeship in order to make up time for exam preparation. To conclude, I would like to admit that applying for a part-time job during secondary school has its pros and cons. However, the advantages overweight. Based on such experience, young people find their niche and know the path they are going to take. Moreover, attending a university, extracurricular activities would outline a student. That is why school years are the best time for us to take our possibilities utmost use.