Scientists say that in the future humanity will speak the same language. Do you think it’s a positive development or negative development?

It is widely accepted that language is a prominent source of communication. Scientists have anticipated that in the future, we might solely depend on one language for conversation, as many schools and workplaces prefer to use a globally accepted language. I strongly believe that it is a negative development, as learning international languages is important in this competitive society, whereas indigenous languages also play a significant role in displaying the value of our culture. The reasons to support my perspective will be elucidated in the following paragraphs. To begin with, adopting a global language for international cooperation is essential. However, there are certain drawbacks associated with this practice. There is a possibility that it might lead to the extinction of local languages. Every regional language has its own customs and values. For example, in most countries, English is considered a globally spoken language, because of which many learning institutions have included it in their academic curriculum. This trend has reduced the importance of indigenous languages among young children. Moreover, this preference might not only affect cultural identity but also dilute cultural uniqueness. As a result, one dominant language and culture are overpowering the essence of those who exist as minorities. Furthermore, focusing primarily on one international language might reduce the relevance of local ones. Cultures are passed through languages, and with the extinction of a language, its culture is also most likely to disappear. A study conducted by scientists found that nearly 2% of regional languages are already on the verge of extinction. With the growing demand for multilingual individuals, many people are also gradually adopting foreign cultures and rituals, while ignoring the value of their own local ones. Therefore, it is a negative development, which can be addressed by educating children about their importance. In conclusion, although the use of a particular language globally fosters social mobility, the widespread adoption of one dominant language can accelerate language extinction and result in the loss of cultural identity among minority communities.