In some countries, children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

There is no denying the fact that hard work is the key to success. In some countries, children are often taught that if an individual strives hard for something, they are capable of accomplishing anything they desire. There are a few advantages and disadvantages associated with this phenomenon. The reasons to support this trend will be mentioned in the following paragraphs. To begin with, the most prominent benefit to consider is that this teaching helps to inculcate the habit of working hard. It also incorporates a sense of confidence among children, as they realise that if they don’t work towards their target enthusiastically, they won’t be able to achieve their goals. For example, a study conducted by scientists found that students who are educated about the rule of working hard are 23% more likely to become successful in their lives. Furthermore, rather than relying on luck, they prefer to invest their time and energy to get the outcomes they want. As a result, it fosters personal growth and helps in their cognitive development. In contrast, one of the negative effects of this trend is that it creates pressure on children. Due to mental strain, children are more likely to underperform, which discourages them and hinders their potential. For example, when children constantly feel stressed about one thing, they often feel depressed as they start to blame and doubt their own capabilities. In addition, if they miss a single target, they might feel demotivated and lose their morale. Therefore, it should not be imposed as a strict rule; children should be given the liberty so that it does not overpower their abilities. In conclusion, although this phenomenon is essential for children to acknowledge and to inculcate the habit of working hard, it should not hinder their abilities; rather, it should boost their enthusiasm to accomplish their objectives with desired results.