People are living longer. Some people think that it causes big problems. Others, however, think that the aging population has many advantages for business, government, and society in general. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Numerous individuals have a long life span nowadays; some argue that this trend has serious issues, while other people think that the old generation offers many benefits for all aspects of society. In this essay, I will explain each side and include my view on this trend. On the one hand, people who live longer may face various problems. One major problem is that they are more prone to diseases such as cancer and heart stroke. Secondly, older people may face some financial challenges; most companies and workplaces require early retirement, so unless they own other businesses other than their job or another source of income, they may tend to take on debt, which may lead to poverty. Thirdly, most older people do not have anyone to take care of them when they are old; even inside the nursing home, it may be hard for them to form friendships with others. On the other hand, the older generations provide many advantages; older adults have much more experience and wisdom in comparison to the younger generation, so they act as guardians, providing young people with lessons and teaching them new skills, for example, patience and financial management. Also, they are considered as a support to other family members since they offer to take care of their children. To conclude, I firmly believe that the older people play a crucial role in our society; therefore, governments should encourage people to take care of them and organise events where older people form new friendships with other old people.