When we meet someone for the first time, we generally decide very quickly what kind of person we think they are and if we like them or not. ls this a good thing or a bad thing?

Nowadays, some people believe that we can decide what kind of person we prefer by a quick judgement, but is it a good or bad thing? In this essay, I will discuss both positive and negative aspects and give my opinion. On the one hand, the advantages of quick decision must be mentioned. The skill of recognising people is important for socialising. First of all, making a decision quickly is the biotic instinct for us of being a human, to be more specific, this natural ability enables us to judge the safety or threat. Back to socialising, for example, few years ago on one day, I was waiting for a train, there was a guy trying to talk to me, I thought he tried to attack me, however, he just wanted to ask me information about the next train. I felt apologetic to him, but I believed that staying moderately alert to any stranger is needed, as danger is unexpected. In addition, quick judgment not only protects ourself, but also keeps the efficiency of socialising, this is because in the modern world, meeting people is easier than before, in other words, it saves our time of filtering people who are worth keeping in touch. On the other hand, quick decision has its drawbacks that should be considered. To begin with, one major drawback is inaccuracy. A good relationship depends on how much people understand each other, which means it needs sufficient time for observing. Otherwise, we may lose many opportunities to know great people. In addition, snap decisions may cause prejudice to new friends, some people have an unfriendly face, but they are actually with a kind personality. In conclusion, I disagree with a quick decison of recognising people. In my opinion, as long as we are willing to spend a longer time to get along with anyone, we may find that all people have positive sides for us to learn.