In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

In recent times, the rise in obesity and drop in people’s overall health and fitness have become a major concern in many countries, especially those in the developed world. This essay will consider two of the main causes of this issue, along with some possible solutions. One of the main causes of increasing weight among the population is due to the fact that so much food and drink contains large amounts of carbohydrates. Junk food, for example, tends to contain high quantities of cheap pasta and rice, while soft drinks often contain large amounts of sugar. If these carbohydrates are not burned up through exercise, they will simply be converted by the body into fat, leading to weight gain. However, the public is getting less exercise, which means that not only will they gain weight, but they will also experience lower levels of health and fitness. One of the main reasons for this lack of exercise is our increasingly sedentary lifestyle. Whilst in the past, many individuals used to be engaged in manual labour such as factory work or farming, today they are more likely to be sitting in an office, hunched over a computer. Additionally, those people are more likely to commute to work by car, rather than walk or cycle, and we can see why the population is getting fatter and less healthy. There are some solutions to this issue that governments could provide, such as a sugar tax. In countries where this has been introduced, such as the U.K., this has led to drinks manufacturers reducing the amount of sugar in their products. I also feel that higher levels of tax on petrol might make car drivers think twice about whether they should really take the car out on the road. However, it is up to individuals to take more responsibility for their own health and fitness. They could make the effort to walk more and take the car less, and make better choices regarding their diet, using information that is widely available on the Internet. In conclusion, sugary, carbohydrate-rich foods are one of the main causes of increasing weight, and this problem has been exacerbated by our increasingly sedentary lifestyle. However, government initiatives such as a sugar tax and encouraging the public to adopt a more active lifestyle can help counteract the problem.