In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

Students who attend university experience different kinds of accommodations. Some live at home, while others attend university in a different city. It can be seen that living outside the home proves to be more beneficial for students because it teaches individuality and also encourages independence. When students live away from home during their university years, it gives them an opportunity to learn who they are without parental guidance. They also get a chance to experience the limits of discipline that has been taught. For instance, first-year students who take up school accommodations realise that they have interests in hobbies that they were otherwise not exposed to in their homes. Although some students might take this opportunity to engage in wayward activities, it is seen that it helps them make decisions and become their own person. Another advantage of living away from home is the opportunity to become independent. While living at home during university years, one might remain dependent on the other family members to always help out with chores and daily routines. However, living alone or around peers would motivate them to understand and contribute to the workings of their surroundings. To illustrate, many individuals attribute their ability to do a lot of daily chores to their varsity years. Therefore, living outside the home would inspire self-government and determination. While living at home will prove easier with increased family support and encouragement, it could stunt social growth because such a person might remain dependent on familial presence all the time. To summarise, living away from home during collegiate years is beneficial because it instils individuality, self-governance and encourages social growth. Although, I would recommend that they make time to visit home regularly, or family should check on them from time to time to help in times of difficulty.