Many business in the world today are run by family members. Do the advantages of family-run business outweigh the disadvantages?

It is widely acknowledged that family-managed companies have become increasingly common in modern society. While this trend offers several advantages, it also presents certain disadvantages. This essay will examine both aspects of this issue. On the one hand, one of the main benefits of family-controlled businesses is that family members are more likely to have a long-term interest in the success of the business, as it can benefit future generations. This can be particularly positive because family members often share common goals. For example, they can make decisions more quickly and any adjustments can be made with greater flexibility as family members often share common attitude. In addition, family-run businesses may save on labor costs as they might be willing to work for less, especially in the initial phases of the business, which further contributes to a lower investment capital. On the other hand, despite these benefits, there are several drawbacks associated with the complete work handover to relatives. One significant disadvantage is that they may lack the necessary professionalism or skills required for certain tasks, which could hinder business growth. Moreover, personal conflicts within the family can spill over into the business, leading to decision-making paralysis and operational challenges, which can negatively affect the project's progress. For instance, if one of the shareholders within the family got a dispute with the other this may lead to partnership dissolution and overall project's failure. In conclusion, although both sides present valid arguments, I believe that collaborating with family to manage the businesess is not advisable, because succseeding the entreprises requires skilled and trustworthy individuals which is not always present in our relatives.