Should students and teachers be friends on Facebook?

Social media like Facebook is also another communication channel that students and teachers could be connected. I agreed that it is appropriate for students and teachers to connect on Facebook for the reasons below. Firstly, Facebook is the online community that is general for the modern world today. Not only teachers and students, but many people also use Facebook as a tool to express identity and opinions same as in school and other channels. To be friends in Facebook is not destroy the relationship or respect of the students and teachers but it strengthens the understanding between each other that they could clearly share interests together. Secondly, respect or disrespect is dependent on the person themselves, not the platform. Even though Facebook is the place where people can share posts freely, including inappropriate posts, teachers and students should reflect on themselves in the appropriate way. In conclusion, teachers and students could connect to each other on Facebook since it is the common platform to communicate and express their perspectives. If it is related to the inappropriate content, it was not because of the platform but the persons themselves. That is the reason why I agreed with this topic.