As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The question of whether the internet dominates newspapers and it is making them obsolete remains controversial. While some believe that due to technological advancement of the internet, newspapers are not being used nowadays, others contend that it is not. This essay partially agrees with the perspective that the internet is being used to obtain the news of current affairs. Proponents emphasise that the internet access is across the globe and it is spotless to find a place without it, including remote areas. Unlike olden days, almost every household has the internet and tech gadgets such as smart phones, home computers and tablets. To substantiate this view, electronic newspapers are available at free of cost and people have access to diverse companies’ news articles. Furthermore, streamlining live news on the mobile phones are promptly available through mobile apps and various social media platforms instead the newspaper will have one day delayed news. On the other hand, it is contended that newspapers are still being used by some elderly people, non-tech savvy people and offices. Some citizens still believe that over usage of electronic products may cause mental illness as it directly affects brain cells, diminish eye health of younger people. However, in this technological era, the advancement of the internet cannot be stopped. Hence the production of newspaper has drastically reduced and it is quite evident as only a few households, commercial places purchase it. Likewise, it is advised that younger generations should use less internet. To conclude, people should bear in mind that even though newspaper is becoming outdated, it is not advised for the children to access internet for every news. Nevertheless, the bottom line is that buying a newspaper will become even more less down the road as today’s young adults will use gadgets as a substitute.