All over the world, children in societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. What are the reasons for this rise in obesity? How could it be tackled?

Nowadays the problem of obesity among the young has become prevalent. This essay will explore two possible reasons for this tendency, as well as propose two ways of dealing with it. The first aspect that should be considered is the obvious availability of junk food, which makes it extremely easy for a child to opt for an unhealthy lunch. For instance, the amount of fast food restaurants like Wendy's, McDonalds, or KFC has grown by 27% in residential areas since 2015. Therefore, it has never been easier to order a cheap and greasy snack after school. What makes it even more irresistible is bright packaging that is purposefully appealing to young people. For example, aforementioned restaurant chains all have pink, red, and yellow logos that are impossible not to notice walking down a street. Fortunately, advertising is a poweful tool that can be used with good intentions. The same strategies that are used to sell our children harmful nutrition could be repurposed and convince the youth that it is fun and delightful to have a balanced diet. Also, parents and communities should do a better job at encouraging young people to be more physically active. Instead of making it obligatory to go to P.E. classes, a variety of sports classes have to be available for students to choose only those they genuinely enjoy. As a result of these measures, the rising generation will view healthy lifestyle as something exciting, not dull. To conclude this essay, children's obesity is a global and serious problem caused by malicious marketing and the lack of better nutrition options. This issue can be resolved by making informed choices more attractive to pupils and eliminating sedentary lifestyle by providing fun ways to practice sports.