More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people think a solution can be to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Obesity is one of the concerning health risks growing all around the world. Many people believe that we can overcome the issue by increasing the price of fattening. I do not agree with this ideology and will further discuss the reasons in this essay. In today’s time, most of the food we consumed are highly processed and consuming it over time makes people overweight. People ’s lifestyle has changed a lot compared to the older generation. While most of our older generation grew up doing hard work in their daily life, many of the recent generation have the advantages of different types of facilities, which make their life easier. Unless people become mindful of what they are eating and are more serious towards physical exercise, they will continue gaining weight. Most of the younger generation is working in the corporate environment, where they work longer hours, and that gives them little to no time for their personal activities. They tend to spend less time doing physical activities, which ultimately results in them gaining weight. Moreover, the prices for the healthy food ingredients are comparatively expensive to that of the fast food or ready-to-eat stuff at the supermarket. Sure, one can increase the price of these food products, preventing the consumers from buying them, but the convenience they provide cannot be beaten by any other food ingredients. In conclusion, only increasing the prices of fattening food will not solve the problem of obesity, people needs to be motivated to live a healthier life.