Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Few individuals believe that the effective method for reducing crime is to provide the victims’ with longer duration in prison. While others condemn that there are various other methods to reduce it. In my opinion, combining both when required is the key, however, this essay will discuss both perspectives. To commence, longer prison sentences for criminals helps to enhance the safety of the public. This is because as the duration increases in a jail can significantly reduce the tendency to commit more crimes. On top of that, this is also beneficial to keep criminals who had committed very offensive crimes out of the general public. As a result, not only people can walk around freely but also it will act as a warning sign for others to not to commit any offense in the future. However, critics argue that it is important to address the basic causes before extending longer periods of punishments in prison such as education and well-being of an individual. It is important to create awareness regarding what should not be done, how to leave a better social life and if required rehabilitation can be arranged for people who suffer from various life issues, like drugs, mental-illness etc. In my opinion, it is important to balance this model and form the decision. If longer sentences are given on severe crimes then it can help people to commit less or nearly none of them. Additional works like education made in the background will definitely help individuals not to move ahead to commit a crime. To conclude, longer sentences alone cannot make a difference. Whereas combining it for severe crimes along with awareness, education and rehabilitation can bring a huge impact in my opinion.