These days people tend to prioritise their individual aims over group goals. Is this a positive or negative development?

In this interconnected world, individualism is taking precedence over community goals. While this can foster creativity and independence, I believe that it is a largely negative shift. It is widely acknowledged that when a person focuses on their personal goals, they do their best to achieve their goals in a short period of time. By doing this, they search for engaging and easy ways which enhances their creativity, a crucial skill in all workplaces. Additionally, concentrating only on private aims contributes to independence. When striving to succeed, one makes essential decisions themselves which in turn stimulates their self-relience, making them independent. Despite these arguments, I consider this change as a negative due to its adverse impact on society and the person itself. As long as individuals in one community contemplate only about themselves, this community will face several challenges such as a lack of collaboration and unity. When every individual cares about their personal desires, the traditions and customs of this nation will start to disappear. Moral values including a sense of community and kindness will lose their value, deteriorating interpersonal relationship. Besides, egoism attributes to isolation. If a person is isolated, they may have psychological issues in their daily lives. Increasing the level of stress and loniliness can be good examples for this. To conclude, being engaged in the implementation of personal goals might be beneficial for people in some ways. However, the reverse effects of it - isolation and a threat to the sense of unity- make it negative, overall.