Childhood obesity is an increasing problem in Australia as many as two thirds of children are now obese. Schools have a responsibility to monitor what their students eat and the amount of exercise they do. To what extend do you agree to this statement?

Currently, in Australia, more than half of young children are becoming overweight. This issue has raised a major question on whether educational institutions should be responsible for keeping track of children' diet and personal fitness. While I agree that it is the schools ' role to look after the children' well-being, I also believe that parents and the government are major players in addressing the problem of obesity. It is undeniable that most children spend a large portion of their day at school; therefore, a school should not only be a place that provides education but also care. Since most schools nowadays start very early and finish relatively late in the day, it is expected that students will be eating and doing numerous activities there. This is the reason why parents are expecting schools to invest in high quality nutritious meals, while also encouraging their children to be physically active. A clear example of this would be primary and secondary schools in South Korea; these schools constantly collaborate with the local government in designing a weekly meal plan for their students in order to ensure that the school meals contain health-benefits while also being delicious. Before the schools ' involvement, many young children in the country have extremely unhealthy eating habits, comprising of high-fat and high-sugar foods. Although schools can play a crucial role in addressing the problem of obesity in young children, parents should be the ones setting example on healthy lifestyle choices. Due to the fact that many young children learn and adopt certain patterns of behavior from the adults that are closest to them. According to a research conducted by Thammasat University, a child that is surrounded by physically active adults is two times more likely to exercise or be attentive to their health. Meanwhile, a child who is born into a family with adults that are not physically active is also more likely to neglect their personal fitness. Therefore, the role of parents is to set a good example of a healthy lifestyle, while schools and the government can help provide extra support. In conclusion, the severity of obesity issue amoung young children in Australia requires collaboration between schools, parents and the government in order to be efficiently addressed.