Some companies have uniforms for their staff which must be worn at all times. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

Certain companies require their employees to wear a uniform whenever they areworking. The main benefits of this are free advertising of the company brand and easy staff recognition; however, the main drawbacks are the expense to the company and potential unpopularity with staff. One of the major advantages of having a uniform is that it promotes the company ’s brand. A distinctive uniform will become associated with the company in the eyes of the public, thereby serving as free advertising for it. It also helps outsiders to easily identify who is an employee. This is necessary so that they can request assistance quickly and easily. For example, a restaurant customer wanting to place an order can immediately find a uniformed waiter without wasting time. The main disadvantage of a company having a uniform for their staff is that it adds an extra expense to the company. The cost of designing, making and replacing uniforms due to wear and tear is an ongoing expense. An additional drawback is that the style may not be appreciated by those who have to wear it. Members of staff may resent being forced to wear clothes which they consider ill-fitting, unflattering or uncomfortable. For example, a delivery driver may be forced to wear a shirt and tie, which may be unpleasant in hot weather, especially when carrying heavy items. In conclusion, the primary advantages of workers having a uniform are that the company can benefit from free advertising and it is convenient to help customers recognise staff, and the main disadvantages are that it is an additional cost the company needs to pay and the uniform may not be appreciated by all members of staf