Some countries achieve international success by building specialised facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Is it a positive or negative development?

Constructing sports facilities exclusive for top athletes to achieve global sporting acclaim is a common practice in some nations. They do so instead of building facilities for the general public. Although this trend has some positive effects, I believe that, overall, it is a negative development. The positive effects of constructing sports amenities exclusive to top sportspeople are mostly related to sporting success. By bringing in top-notch coaches, equipping the facilities with the latest technology aimed at helping atheletes to push a little harder can be a differnece between success and failure. In fact, countries like Uzbekistan have achieved immense sporting success by just doing that, and this country's latest Olympics performance, in which it got the 13th place among all the countrie, is a testament to the fact such investment pays off, with the government reporting a whopping amount of investments in sporting projects that only serve Olympians. However, this sporting success, I argue, do not translate into tangible improvements in the lives of ordinary people. On the contrary, it usually causes unrest and disrupts social cohesion. This is because these facilties are built with the taxpayer money but serve only a minority of people, upsetting most of the populace. Another adverse aspect of exculsivity afforded to top atheletes is the potential health decline of the public. Given that such projects often come with hefty bills, the number of sports facilities for the public might not be built, and the direct effect is limited access to exercise, which could, in the long run, affect public health negatively. In conclusion, while some countries do enjoy unprecedented sporting acclaim as a result of such facilities, it is for the most part, a negative trend because the general public suffers as a result of such projects.