Handwriting today is less formal than it was in the past. What are the causes of this change? Is it a positive or negative development?

As it appears, the usage of paper letters written by hand has experienced a significant decline nowdays, compared to past times, when it made its debut as an innovative tool of information transfer among humans which lead to successfull civil development. Apparently, the following tendency has spread its benefits as well as flaws onto us which shall be discussed.    First things first, we need to acknowledge the progress of the whole humanity that attributes to new approach of a distant communication. The time we invented phone, telegraph devices, and of course, Internet connection people seized an opportunity to exchange information, paticularly communicate within record time of messaging which therefore established steady technological growth and formidable comfort for consumers so long awaited.  Letters seem to no longer be a necessity and handwriting possesses a limited range. Stuff only remains in a form of precisely dedicated formal applications and it finds struggle at schools, where students still need complicated concepts to be implemented on paper by hand, resulted in memorising tons of material.  All appears like a definite advantage if to look on tops. However, if to think out of the box, we may find out, that we end up forgetting writing, as a skill itself. Sounds like a huge problem, when it comes to our past recognition, seems disonorable towards our ancestors, still handwriting is encrypted in our nation DNA for thousands of years, would be a dramatic thing to abandon it all.  In conclusion, it is undoubtedly well disclosed, that regretting trends would be a foolish idea, primarily because innovations simplified our lifes, on the other hand cheering over it, wouldn't make sense because we must not forget our past.