Topic: Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

The ongoing debate surrounding whether governments need to spend money to protect languages in danger of extinction has given rise to two distinct perspectives. One side argues that saving these languages should be spent the money, while the other side insists that this policy would be a waste of money and offers a more viable solution. This essay will carefully analyse both positions before presenting a well-reasoned personal opinion. Those who support the government should spend money to protect almost extinct languages argue that it presents a straightforward and effective way to preserve cultural heritage. One primary argument is that we can learn the traditional customs through languages. For instance, archaeologists discovered the Maya Civilization, which had agricultural development, a hierarchy system, and medical knowledge from learning their alphabet and language. Moreover, protecting languages that are in danger of extinction demonstrates that strengthening ethnic identity and social cohesion, making it a practical consideration. On the contrary, advocates of governments should not waste public money on preserving languages, contend that it offers a more comprehensive and sustainable policy. The rationale key behind this stance is that it should use the public money on enhancing public welfare such as constructing roads, building public infrastructure, and improving other social issues, which prioritizes the majority of people’s rights and ensure that it could take care of those who truly need assist or improve in the society, thus addressing not only current issues but also preventing future and long-term benefits. In conclusion, both sides of the argument concerning whether governments need to spend money to protect in danger of languages provide valuable insights. However, after careful consideration, I am inclined to believe that spending the money on the other way instead of preserving languages offers balanced and sustainable results, particularly when viewed from a long-term perspective.