Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any other experiences we may have in our life.* *Which do you consider to be the major influence?

Researchers argue that nature plays a pivotal role in shaping human personality and development as opposed to nurture. It is my opinion that nature contributes more to determining human personality and development. This essay discusses both views and my standpoint. Every human has an inborn trait that is inherited from the genetic mutation of both parents. These traits are present from creation; they can neither be erased, hidden nor learned, and help to shape the individual irrespective of the environment or society they have found themselves in. This is seen in a popular proverb which says that "a fruit cannot fall far from the tree " and further explains why intelligent and exceptional parents birth intelligent children. On the contrary, nurture, which refers to environmental factors that are learned, seen and interacted with in the course of human growth, has little or no role in determining the personality and development of an individual. This is so because a learned behavior or characteristics can be easily forgotten. On this premise, there have been several cases of parents who have enrolled their children in different learning centers to improve their academic performance but got no tangible result afterward. In conclusion, nature is the footprint to which an individual is made and shaped, hence their personality and development.