Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to counsume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Processed food items are readily available in almost all supermarkets. Since they are cheap and require minimal effort before consumption they have become a popular choice for many people. However, they are most often calorie dense and contain high quantity of sugar. Therefore, people argue that the prices of these items must be raised to discourage buyers from purchasing them. While I agree that increased prices could deter the public from purchasing them, this decision can have a disproportionately negative impact on low-income families who rely on ready meals. Raising prices on processed food and drink items can force the general public to purchase those items less frequently. This results in a population that spends money on fresh produce and prioritizes homemade meals. Eventually, we see a decline in health problems related to high consumption of fast food such as diabetes, hypertension, high cholesterol, coronary heart disease etc. On the other hand, there are a large number of people that cannot afford to cook meals at home, buy fresh produce and rely heavily on pre - packaged food. In my opinion, it would be unfair to raise prices for such people who have a low socio-economic status. Ultimately, a more holistic approach is necessary, we must combine the raise in prices with educating the public on making better dietary choices. The revenue generated from the higher taxes on sugary foods can be funneled to support the unhoused population, unemployed population etc, additionally helping them eat and live better. To sum up, raising prices on sugary foods can be beneficial only when the public understands the health risks associated with consuming sugary food items. The increased taxes on such items must be used to benefit people who struggle to make a living. We can successfully change the public opinion on such items and promote better health in the long run while simultaneously increasing the quality of life for those living in poverty by simply raising the prices on pre-made items.