THE USE OF MOBILE PHONES IS AS ANTISOCIAL AS SMOKING. SMOKING IS BANNED IN CERTAIN PLACES SO MOBILE PHONE SHOULD BE BANNED LIKE SMOKING. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE.

In the modern world, it is undeniable that technology, such as mobiles, has become an adiction that results in isolation from people around us. It has been suggested that the use of devices should be prohibited the same way as it is smoking in specific areas. I am inclined to agree that it difficults socialise. However, it cannot be treated the same way as cigarette consumption. In this essay, an attempt will be made to examine both perspectives. While phones used to be a tool to automate our lives, nowadays it seems to create quite the opposite effect. Whereas people may use them to communicate with their family members, others are just infinitely scrolling on social media. The latter action creates an antisocial behaviour which affects face-to-face relationships. Smoking for instance, separates the community in groups of those who do not smoke and the ones that do, creating a barrier in between. It is clearly seen the similarities in both addictions, nevertheless the impact of banning them in the same way does not seems fair. A case in point is that mobiles are also used as a way to contact our relatives in case of emergencies. Therefore, prohibit them could be harmful for those in need to reach someone. In contrast with smoking where at any scenario, the health for the active and passive consumer will be affected. All things considered, it should not been treated the same way. In summary, it is certain that both smoking and the usage of devices are socially affecting the way we relate with others. Nevertheless, I stronlgy disagree with extreme measures of prohibition. I do believe there is a way to find a better solution to the matter if more options are given.