Some people believe that university education should be free for all students. Others argue that students should pay for their own studies. Discuss both views and give your opinion

In recent years, the issue pertaining to free education has caused considerable amount of debate among individuals. Some proponents believe that it will give rise to a literacy rate while, others believe that this will increase the financial burden on the government. The ensuing paragraphs will discuss both the viewpoints and stance my opinion for the same. On the one hand, promoting free education will increase the literacy rate in a particular country. This is because it will create equal opportunities, removing financial barriers, allowing talented individuals to access higher learning. As a result, this shall give rise to a more educated workforce contributing to society and the economy. Moreover, over time, higher education has often been seen in better civic preparations and lower crime rates. On the contrary, some individuals believe that free education will increase the financial burden on the government. They believe that this will lead to the government being diverted from the other important sectors like healthcare and infrastructure. Moreover, others believe that students will undervalue their education. This is because of due lack of financial burden they will lack motivation to perform well. To conclude, I certainly favour the opinion that education should be free for students as it promotes equal opportunity and fosters more educational society. However, it also presents challenges related to funding, quality and fairness. A balanced approach that ensures access for those in need while maintaining educational standards and financial sustainability may be the most practical solution. Ultimately, the goal should be to create a higher education system that is both inclusive and effective in preparing students for their future.