''Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.''

There is no denying the fact that stoping crime completely is not possible. Therefore, people are trying to find a way to reduce it. While it is a commonly held belief that some of them say that the prison term should be longer, there is also an argument that says there are lots of different ways to stop people from committing crimes. This eassy will analise this topic from both points and express my opinion. On one hand, making longer prison sentences is not the best way because humans usually do not know the punishments for their actions. In other words, they may think that they are not going to be arrested. In addition, if you want this method to work you must warn them. For example, talk about it in radios, newspaper and put posters in the stors or other places. On the other hand, different ways to reduce crime are plenty. It is also possible to say that longer jail time is not the one and only way. Moreover, you may find a lot of alternative methods. For instance, deploy more police officers around the city or the country, this might make criminals think twice befor doing anything. Furthermore, maybe trying to answer emergency calls faster could be an alternative way. In conclusion, there are no easy answer to this question. On balance, I tend to believe that long term in prison is an excellent way. However, you may have more ways that will do the job.