Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It has become a debatable topic whether students should focus on academic subjects only or also study additional subjects. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss both the views along with my own opinion on this view. On the one hand, people suggest that students should learn other subjects not related to their majors, like sports and arts, because it not only helps them to learn many development skills, such as cooperation, teamwork, etc, that are mandatory to achieve success after graduation, but also allows them to master skills that may help them to earn money while struggling. When students participate in physical activities or games, they learn to work in groups or teams by sharing responsibilities and helping each other. whereas subjects like painting, drawing, can be utilised to earn money. For example, while pursuing a Pharmacy degree, I learn operating an espresso machine, which helped me find a part-time job in a coffee shop, and I paid all my expenses through this job while studying. On the other hand, some people argue that there are fewer chances of failing in exams if students give their full time to study the main subjects. Studying additional subjects can put extra stress on learners, resulting in burnout and loss of interest in study, which can lead to poor academic performance. Moreover, it is difficult to give equal time to other subjects apart from the main subjects. For instance, according to the survey conducted at the University of Toronto, it has been seen that students who were participating in other subjects in addition to their main subjects performed poorly in exams as compared to students who were concentrating only on academic subjects. To conclude, while learning additional subjects may teach students skills like collaboration, teamwork and make them capable of earning during study but it can negatively impact their academic performance.