Television dominates the free-time of too many people. It can make people lazy and prevent them from socialising with others. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people have been addicted to TV screens spending their precious hours watching multiple programmes instead of going outside and connecting with friends or family. I completely agree with this view and believe that TV has distracted people of all ages to miss out on the opportunity to make purposeful connections. At present, televisions have become a major source of distraction for children and adults alike. Too many entertainment programmes are easily accessible to viewers of every age group, and the remote has provided them with a fake sense of control, enabling them to fidget around channels for several hours without breaks in between. For instance, multiple TV networks dedicated to air kids shows, schedule cartoons and programmes constantly without gaps in between to provide options but this has proved to be rather disadvantageous for the toddlers as they become easily attached to such contents and grow up without being able to make friends or connections and, misapprehending their meaning Out of all the programmes, TV shows like Reality events, series and many more are responsible for arousing false emotions of involvement in people. Intaking information from these shows creates complacency in the individuals, discouraging them from socialising with friends and family. For example, sitcoms and reality TV, show a range of emotions from one episode to another, resulting in the viewers feeling involved and binge-watching multiple episodes in a single sitting. Consequently, people waste their time resorting to TV entertainment for pseudo-participation and give no thought to socialising with others. In conclusion, television has dominated the majority of the population in exploiting their precious time, leading to missed opportunities to build important connections.