Many people use social media every day. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

There is a belief that a considerable amount of people use social media on a daily basis. While this development offers several notable advantages it also has certain disadvanatges. Overall, Even though there are clear benefits I firmly believe that disadvantges outweigh the advantages. One significant advantage of social media is that, It helps to chat with different people around the world. This stims from the fact that social media, particularly apps help to people communicate worldwide. As a result people become more aware of cultures and traditions. For instance recently I have uploaded an app called HelloTalk and there I got a plenty of acquaintances and they were all from different parts of the world. Therefore this demonstrates that social media connects people around the world. However, the key disadvanatge of social media is that it has a negative affect on overall well being and health. This is largely because it frequently forces people to compare their life with an unrealistic pictures. Consequently this led to the mental problem like depression, Moreover people that spend extend hours in social media tend to be dissatisfaied by their lives. Thus this highlights the potential drawbacks that cannot be overlooked. In conclusion while usage of social media provides a sense of connectivity to the world. The drawbacks significantly outweigh the advantages. Overall, I firmly believe that disadvantages are more substantial.