Smokers have rights too, so they should be allowed to smoke in public places. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

People who smoke have rights too. Individuals who smoke should be permited to smoke in public areas. I totally disagree with this statement because second-hand smoking provoke lung diseases, and it is a bad influence for young people. One reason why I am totally disagree with this statement is that second-hand smoking lead to suffer from lung dieases, so individuals who do not smoke have the right to mantain their health too. First, any lung issues tend to become chonic disease, so individual who are affected by second-hand smoke tend to suffer from coughing the rest of their lives. For instance, In the USA 35 million of Americans were reported suffering from chronic diseases due to second-hand smoke, according to New York Times newspaper. Another reason why I totally go against this statement is that it is a bad influence for young people because smokers normalize this practice, so teens do not see smoking as a threatening bad habbit. Also, knowing that adults are allow to smoke in public places, they believe that smoking is not a bad practice for their health. More importantly, many teens tend to vape, so it is a fun thing to do at all the time. To illustrate this, In the USA more than 5 million young minds were reported vaping because they believe is it cool to do in public places. To conclude, I totally disagree that smokers should be allowed to smoke in private places because they harm individuals with second-hand smoke, and their bad behaviour of smoking send a wrong message to young adults that set a bad example for minors.