for most large companies. However some people think that interview not a reliable method of choosing whom to employ and there are other better methods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Interview-based recruitment process is a conventional method. It is globally recognized. I disagree with the given statement which says that interview is not a reliable method, rather, other selection methods may offer greater effectiveness. In this essay I will examine both sides of the argument and provide my overall opinion. Generally speaking, there are a wide range of reasons why employers believe that Interview-oriented recruitment process can be the best method for hiring personnel. Perhaps the main reason is the holistic evaluation method, which allows employers to evaluate the candidate as a whole including their soft skills, communication abilities, intellectual knowledges, Instant problem-solving skills etc. Since the interview is conducted face to face, an employer can directly assess a candidate’s ability to handle pressure, confidence level, instant decision-making ability and capacity to make sound decisions etc. Despite these arguments, many people believe that there are other selection methods besides interviews for a number of reasons. One of the common methods is written test, which allow employers to assess candidate’s technical knowledge, theoretical understanding and problem-solving skills in a standardized way. Written tests are particularly important for evaluating a large number of applicants fairly. A further point in favor of his argument is that, skill-based assessments. For example, this type of assessment can demonstrate a candidate’s ability to perform real job duty, which may not always be evident in an interview. To conclude, although other selection methods such as written test and skill-based assessments have certain advantages, I firmly believe that interviews remain the most reliable method of recruitment. Because this allows employers to assess candidates’ ability to handle real life situation directly. Therefore, despite some limitations, interviews are the most effective way to select suitable employees in most cases.