Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

There is no denying the fact that university students have different ideas about how to manage their time during their studies. While it is a commonly held belief that students should focus only on their main subject to get their qualification, there is also an argument that they should explore other subjects as well. This essay will analyse the topic from both points of view and express my opinion. On the one hand, many people think that university students should concentrate on their main field of study. In other words, studying only one subject allows students to become more skilled and knowledgeable in their area. In addition, it helps them finish their degree faster and be more prepared for a specific career. For example, a medical student needs to spend most of their time on medical subjects to become a good doctor. On the other hand, some believe that learning other subjects can be useful. It is also possible to say that studying a variety of topics can make students more creative and open-minded. Moreover, it can help them gain useful skills like communication, teamwork, or problem-solving. For instance, a student studying engineering may benefit from learning a little about business or design to improve their future work opportunities. To sum up, there is no easy answer for this question. On balance, however, I tend to believe that students should focus mainly on their main subject, but they should also have the chance to explore other subjects to develop wider skills for life and work.