Some people think that shops should not be allowed to sell food or drinks that are scientifically proven to be bad for people’s health. Do you agree or disagree?

A few individuals believe that outlets should not be permitted to sell edibles that scientists have rendered unhealthy. I agree with this statement as such eatables lead to chronic illnesses and money wastage. Firstly, such food items have a negative impact on the body by subjecting it to many dangerous diseases. People have the habit of consuming things that are scrumptious, which turns into an addiction. Whether pizzas, burgers, or fried items, all of them are packed with ingredients that, if consumed in excess, could expose humans to diseases such as diabetes and high blood pressure. For instance, recent research has shown that candies like sour patch are the leading cause of juvenile diabetes in children below the age of 7, owing to their high sugar content. Therefore, objects that are deemed unfit for human consumption should not be sold in markets. Secondly, these consumables cause people to spend a lot of money. In today’s fast-paced world, where most people are busy working and supporting families, there is little time to cook. Opting for junk foods seems to be the most viable option. In doing so, they spend a lot, thus wasting huge currency. To support this idea is the example of the United States, where working parents spend fifty per cent of their earned salaries on instant foods that tend to gratify their dietary needs. This shows that food and drinks with adverse effects increase expenditure. In conclusion, although such products can be consumed in moderation, I believe that the potential health risks and overspending outweigh the advantages. Ultimately, a healthy individual forms the foundation of a prosperous society and, in turn, of the future.