In many schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (eg. languages) and boys choose science subjects (eg. Physics). What do you think are the reasons? Do you think that this tendency should be changed?

There is a common disbelief that female students are more likely to study arts and humanities, such as languages, while males prefer science-based courses. Many assumptions can be made to explain this phenomenon, but in my opinion, its roots lie in the historical division of gender roles. Furthermore, this tendency should definitely be reconsidered in order to promote inclusive education. Studying science subjects usually requires a significant amount of effort to analyze complex problems found in nature. Historically, women were wrongly believed to possess weaker cognitive abilities and to lack the analytical mindset required for scientific study. This misconception originated during times of war, when women were expected to focus on raising families and managing households, leaving them with fewer opportunities for advanced education. As a result, they were often encouraged to pursue subjects perceived as less demanding, such as literature or languages. However, as society progresses, this trend is gradually declining. With the rise of feminism and equal rights movements, many women now have opportunities to pursue scientific fields. For instance, numerous scholarships, such as the “ Women in STEM” program by the British Council and Cranfield University in the UK, encourage female participation in technical and engineering disciplines. Moreover, research shows that girls achieve equally high, or even higher, results in science subjects compared to their male peers. This evidence disproved the long-standing stereotype. In conclusion, the tendency for women to choose arts subjects was historically linked to the misconception that they were less capable of studying science. Its roots lie in centuries-old gender roles, when women were expected to prioritise family responsibilities rather than education. However, this trend has been steadily diminishing as more girls gain access to equal opportunities in STEM and consistently demonstrate outstanding achievements.