In the 20th century, contact between many different parts of the world has developed rapidly through air travel and telecommunications. Do advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often argued that the development of air travel and telecommunications allow the world connected. From my perspective, the benefits of the issue are greater than drawbacks since those technologies stay the world connected and provide job opportunities. To begin with, I accept that international travel and telecommunications cause several pollution. Firstly, air travel leads to an increasing amount of carbon dioxide. In other words, it leads to global warming as air craft emits high level of carbon dioxide. Furthermore, countries tend to clear forests to develop tourists spots. This is mainly because local people want to make more profits so it leads to a large number of clearing forests, which leads wild animals lose their habitats. Once their habitats destroyed, it is difficult to recover for a couple of decades. As a result, biodiversity will significantly decrease, and some of wild animal could go to extinction. On the other hand, I am convinced that developing technologies such as telecommunication make the world connected as these technologies enable people to connect without time and location constraints. Therefore, peole do not feel social isolation. For example, satellite internet enables workers who work remote areas to communicate with their families and friends. Furthermore, air travel enables people to experience exotic cultures. People are now able to fly in anywhere in 48 hours so it leads to easier access to foreign countries. For example, Americans can travel to East Asia countries in 24 hours, which means air travel make physical distance compact. Also, industries related to travel can employ more workers. This is mainly because travel industry needs more workers, it leads to a increasing number of employment. In conclusion, although there are several drawbacks, advantages far outweigh the drawbacks since air travel and telecommunication enable people to easily go oversea and feel connected with their families and friends.