It is common practice for some students to take a gap year between high school and university in order to do charitable work abroad in underdeveloped countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages for young people of doing volunteer work?

Many students, after high school diploma, go abroad in order to do a charitable work in some underdeveloped countries for one year, before starting University. In my opinion, this is a good idea to spend time helping poor people and knowing different cultures and places.  Many students don't know what to to during University and, sometimes they are not prepared to choose what kind of work the want to to in the future. Some of them just begin University, trying to find their place, other ones take an period of time when they aren't employed and a growing part of them take a gap year performing some charitable jobs in underdeveloped countries. I strongly believe that not all young persons are able to make a choice at the same time and, sometimes time could be helpful. Parents have a pivotal role in this decisions, and sometimes, they have to suggest to wait for a year and look at other realities. I think, it is fundamental for a student to come visit an underdeveloped country, in order to see other ways of life and how other guys like him/her sometimes doesn't have the same opportunities. On the other hand, adolescents are exposed to many external pressions, in order to quickly find and obtain a successful and highly-remunerative work. Finally, not all students have the same opportunities and sometimes this " sabatic " year is an available option only for few of them. Therefore, it can be concluded that, in cases on unclear ideas, finding a charitable job in a foreign underdeveloped country is a reasonable and suggestive option, helping both the visitors and the residents.