Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets, many small local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. Advantages and disadvantages

There has been much debate going on around the issue if small businesses should be kept or closed. Some people are in favour of this however, some express the opposite opinion. In this essay, I will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of closure of small businesses. First of all, local businesses do not offer as broad a range of products as bigger businesses do. Most of the time small ventures provide limited products and services, which only makes people spend more time going through different places and choosing the things they would like to obtain. Consequently, humans become more and more exhausted and irritable due to the fact that the variety of choice is restricted. What is more, globalisation renders international companies inevitable. Evolution and technology makes small businesses fall behind. The majority of owners simply lack the required skills and competence to adapt in a fast evolving world. As a result, more and more small companies go bankrupt and modern industry takes over their place. However, small businesses are beneficial to society because they are more aware of local needs and demand for specific products or services. In many cases the supermarkets only offer the mass production but frequently people are searching for goods that are niche and exclusive. Hence, small ventures are extremely popular between elderly people and local communities. Hence, small ventures are extremely popular between elderly people and local communities. Furthermore, consumers are offered higher quality products for a lower price. This way preserving local businesses is better for the people who do not earn such a big salary and cannot afford overpriced commodities.