The purpose of business is to make money and they should concentrate only on this. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge of experience.

Owing to increasing competition these days, most of people are choosing entrepreneurship to make money which is leading to higher number of businesses these days. However, on side of earning profits, these businesses are also causing harm to environment. Therefore, I disagree with the given statement and believe that along with earning profits, companies should also focus on other social responsibilities. I will discuss points supporting my view point in following paragraphs. To begin with, natural resources ar getting depeletd as number of factories run on these resources such as companies which use excessive water, one of the example is Sunrise Soya Foods which uses water for tofu production. So in order to compensate for this, companies need to indulge in contributing to environment sustainability programs. Secondly, smoke emitted from factories lead to air pollution which is not only hatmful for humans but also for birds. If companies fund it difficult to control emissions of harmful particles, they need to invest in programs which aids in reducing effect of these on living beings. Furthermore, companies should also contribute in helping society as a moral duty. Following ethics should be the primary goal of each industry which will eventually lead them to help destitute people and make society a better place for everyone. For example, each year Nestle company contributes 10% of their profits to child welfare. To conclude, I perceive that contributing to environment and society should be one of the goals of the company in addition to generating revenues which will make earth a better place for everyone.