In some countries, there has been an increase in the number of parents who educate their children themselves at home instead of sending them to school. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been a tendency towards home education, which is carried out solely by parents instead of sending children to school. It is difficult to imagine that the perks of homeschooling are greater than its drawbacks, because kids lack social interaction and their parents are not well qualified, although such children can have personalised learning and a safe learning environment. Students can learn lessons at their own pace because of adjustments to teaching style and teaching style according to their abilities when they study at home. This is largely because lessons are taught depending on their strong and weak points, which help parents to teach school curriculums in the child’s learning speed instead of moving at a fixed pace in school. For example, struggling students who fall behind in classrooms can receive extra attention from their parents in their studies. Furthermore, home education protects children from the possibility of bullying, violence, and negative peer pressure in classes, because at home, they are far from such negative social influences, studying in a safe and controlled learning environment. A clear example of this is that teenagers at school may feel peer pressure to smoke, skip classes, and engage in harmful activities, leading to loss of concentration in class. Consequently, for these reasons, such as a one-size-fits-all education system and harmful social behaviors at school, many parents prefer education at home for their children. On the other hand, homeschooling does not develop children ’s communication and teamwork skills, and their parents lack professional teaching skills in school subjects. As a result, such people become isolated from the community and struggle to cooperate with others. However, schools provide opportunities to interact with groupmates and promote teamwork skills that are crucial in teenagers’ future, particularly in career prospects. Consider the example of two employees in the workplace: the first worker studied at school and attended many school events, and the latter one only received home education and was far from kids. Of course, both of them will be the best in their field, but a homeschooled worker cannot work properly in teamwork duties and will not attend any social gatherings. In addition, parents can sometimes make mistakes in explaining the concepts of some STEM subjects, particularly math, physics, and engineering, because of their low awareness of such curricula. Not only does it cause problems for the understanding of students, but it also prevents children from working in job sectors that are specialized in such kind of subjects. Over time, home education brings difficulties to kids in collaborative environments and misinterpretation of complex concepts. To sum up, even though home education keeps children away from the failure of schools to accommodate individual learning speeds and harmful behaviours, it cannot create social environments and cover the school lessons professionally as teachers.