‘It is the job of governments and companies to deal with the huge environmental problems which we face. Individuals on their own can do little or nothing’. What is your opinion about this statement?

Some people believe that it is the duty of governments and companies to solve the large environmental problems we face because individuals on their own are incapable of fixing these problems. I completely agree with this statement due to the fact that the government has more resources and training for fixing environmental issues than the average individual. Citizens pay taxes to the government, so that they can be able to use the necessities as well as to be free from any environmental hazard. When there is a huge environmental problem it should be the duty of the government to fix the issue, because they have lots of financial resources to cover the cost of fixing it. An average individual might not be able to afford the full amount of covering the damages and might end up taking out loans. For example, In Kenya, when an area was flooded. A father took it on himself to try to take care of the problem, but that led to him taking loans and paying it off after a couple of years. When this issue could have easily been solved by the government. Furthermore, The government has more skilled professionals who have been specifically trained to handle environmental hazards. For instance, If an individual without proper training decides to fix a gas leak, he or she might suffer serious health complications or even die. That is why it is better for the government to take care of these types of issues because in the case of an unexpected accident, these professionals would have adequate knowledge to deal with the issue. In conclusion, I believe that it is safer, cheaper and time efficient to let the government deal with large environmental hazards.