In many countries, plastic bags are the main source of rubbish causing pollution in oceans and on land; therefore they should be banned. To what extant do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In some countries, plastic bags become the main cause of pollution in the oceans and on land. That is why they should be banned. I completely agree with this view because it is not easily degradable and causes pollution in the soil and in the marine environment. One of the main reasons for banning plastic bags is creating pollution in the environment. It can be seen that those people who are using bags for groceries and for other household chores, dump them carelessly after consuming them. As a result, it releases toxic gases in the environment and it takes hundreds of years to degrade it. Automatically, these bags pollute the soil and reduce its fertility level, which is essential for the growth of plants. Moreover, most people use plastic bags for buying food, and these bags consist of harmful chemicals which affect the human body. As per scientific research, plastic bags contain microplastics, and these microplastics enter our food chain and affect the blood circulation, lungs and human organs. Therefore, it should be completely banned. Furthermore, plastic bags are becoming a serious concern as they cause water pollution in the oceans. Those people who often visit beaches, use plastic bags for wrapping their food. After using it, they dumped it anywhere. Sea creatures such as fish, sea horses, turtles and other birds often mistake plastic for food, and die after consuming it. In this way, these bags not only create problems in the marine environment but also disrupt the entire ecosystem. Now, the government take some initiatives by educating individuals towards the environmental problems and imposing a ban on the use of plastic bags In conclusion, undoubtedly, plastic bags are generating more pollution on the planet, and the official authorities should impose strict restrictions on them. I strongly support this view as it is detrimental to human health, harms marine life, and does not easily decompose. Banning it would be an ideal solution for it.