All over the world, societies are facing growing problems with obesity. This problem affects children and adults. What are the reasons for this? and how could it be tackled.

In modern society, it is commonly observed that a large number of adults and children are overweight. In this essay, the main causes of the issue and possible solutions will be examined in turn. To begin with, there are obvious causes for the issue. Firstly, people tend to lack sufficient exercise as they are too busy. When living cost increases, they need to earn more money to support their families. Therefore, a number of people are required to work overtime, resulting in a lack of physical activity. Another reason for childhood obesity is that the advancement of technology enables children to enjoy a number of indoor entertainment such as video games and smartphones. Children no longer need to go outside to meet their friends because they can meet online. As a result, they do less physical activity compared to the past. On the other hand, a couple of steps would be considered by governments and schools. First of all, governments could encourage companies to guarantee work-life balance. When people can have spare time, they might do more exercise, leading to a reduction in weight. So, governments should implement work-life balance policies. One effective solution for obese children could be made by schools. Schools should provide more physical education classes as children do not have enough time to play outside. If schools offer more physical activity classes, they can burn more calories, resulting in a decline in their weight. Consequently, schools encourage young people to do more physical activity during school time. In conclusion, there are several ways to tackle the issue such as the implementation of new policies and physical education classes in schools.