Many people believe that individuals who commit serious crimes should not be released from prison. To what extent do you agree?

The main purpose of a prison should be to rehabilitate individuals that have committed serious crimes, not to punish these individuals by giving them life sentences. This essay will explain why I strongly disagree with the notion that life sentences should be given out to individuals who have committed serious crimes, as life sentences perpetrate criminal behavior and the only way to truly reduce the crime rate is to focus on rehabilitation rather than punishment. Every human being has the right to experience freedom, even if they have broken major laws in the past. Of course, this is not to say we shouldn't be lenient on major offenders; however, keeping them in prison for life would not help solve the greater problem. When a person is given a life sentence, it essentially dehumanizes them and deems them unfit for society. They assume that they will never experience the comfort or normalcy that a life outside of prison brings, hence why they give into their criminal urges and can never be truly rehabilitated. Many high-security prisons across the world contain many prisoners who are either serving life sentences or are on death row, and many of these prisons have gangs operating behind bars and violence that occurs daily. These prisoners, due to their current situation, think that they have nothing to lose, and participate in the constant cycle of violence that many of these institutions face. Prisoners should be kept in prisons only until they are fully rehabilitated, as it ensures that they are ready to become a member of society once more. Rehabilitation would be substantially more beneficial to prisoners, as it offers them a chance at redemption. Through rehabilitation, prisoners will learn how they can be contributing members of their community and avoid the patterns that initially turned them into a criminal. For instance, many prisons in Norway are designed to be acommodating and beneficial toward its prisoners. They offer educational services, job training, and recreational activities. By following this method of rehabilitation, Norway successfully keeps its crime rate low, and ensures that individuals once imprisoned will not become repeat offenders. In conclusion, I believe that life sentences are an unjust way of dealing with criminals, and that rehabilitation should be prioritized to create a safe environment for citizens and former prisoners alike. As rehabilitation humanizes prisoners and eliminates the chance of repeat offenders, it is the best way of keeping the peace in many countries.