In past, people wear clothes that shows their culture. Nowadays people like to wear common clothes worldwide. Is this a positive or negative development?

Back then, people wore clothes that reflected their cultural heritage. But now, people prefer to wear clothes that are popular worldwide. While others think that people lost their identity, I believe that people shifted towards comfort and versatileness, consequently, representing it a positive development. I think this trend is a positive development for certain compelling reasons. One of them is that people have chosen clothes that suit their preferences in terms of comfort. In comparison to casual clothes, cultural garments are uncomfortable to put them on and keep wearing them on a daily basis. Because they are mostly made of non-breathable fabric and require careful cleaning, while casual clothes are easy to clean and made of modern materials. Additionally, modern clothes are more versatile than traditional garments. Today, people daily visit different places and participate in a wide variety of events. This require not only comfort, but also versatileness of cloth. For example, instead of changing from one look to another, individuals prefer to choose one look for a day and easily move to a lot of destinations. Because national clothes can be used only during national holidays to reflect the national identity. Moreover, this gives them minimalistic view, as well as elegant look. Even though traditional dresses have beautiful and attractive design, recent taste in fashion makes people to choose more minimalistic design. In conclusion, in recent decades, people's preferences changed towards national clothes to modern garments. I hold the view that, this is a positive development, since casual clothes offer comfort and versatileness, rather than time consuming cleaning and one-time use.