Most schools offer some type of physical education program to their students. Why is it important? Should physical education classes be required or optional?

Physical education programs are offered by most schools aiming to improve students skills. While some people strongly claim that fitness classes should be provided as an option to students, others can really understand its importance and argue that it should be compulsory for children at school. This essay will discuss why physical education is essential to a child’s development because it contributes to both their physical and mental health as well as teaching them important skills. Students attending physical education programs at schools enhance their wellbeing. Firstly, fitness programs can contribute meaningfully to the improvement of student’s physical health as sports and movement from the lessons can assist in weight loss and body muscle gain. Secondly, students may use this program as a way to relieve their stress caused by exams and homework and in consequence, improve their mental health and social skills significantly. In addition, the rise of positive hormones to a student's brain while practicing a sport might play a vital part to positively influence their mood, sleep and attention. A case in point is serotonin. There is a discussion over whether these physical education programs should be compulsory or optional. Hopefully, these programs would be offered to students as required and implemented in their timetable at least once a week. Inevitably, most students do not have the possibility to practice any sport and exercise during non-school hours, hence it might be a great opportunity to increase their physical and mental welfare while they are playing a sport. To conclude, physical education programmes are essential to support students in their development stage. Children can reduce their stress levels as well as lose weight while they are socializing with their peers in a sports programme. Schools should consider implementing physical education as part of their compulsory curriculum.