In many parts of the world, shopping is no longer a way that people buy things that they need, and it has been developed into a fun activity. What are the reasons for this development? Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Throughout the globe, the activity of shopping has evolved into a mode of entertainment. There are a variety of causes behind this development, and this has various adverse consequences, which will be captivated in the forthcoming paragraphs along with the conclusion at the end. There are tremendous reasons behind why shopping has turned into a fun activity worldwide; the foremost one is associated with the enhanced living standard of the citizens. The folks want to win the race of success; as a result, they strive to work hard, which has heightened their standard of living that results into frequent shopping from various supermarkets and online stores to quench their thirst. To cite an example, in India, affluent people, nowadays, purchase the various products just for mental satisfaction, instead of making purchases as per their requirements. Hence, shopping has become a mode of entertainment in the world. Making purchases in order to entertain themselves has put negative consequences to the financial condition of families as well as on society, as buying items without any need outcomes in form of overspending, which somewhere tighten the economical condition of the families. Secondly, this sort of activity of rich people is imitated by the middle-class families, resulting in lower living standard in the society because they live beyond their means. For example, in states like Punjab, famous singers or people do the luxurious shopping for entertainment, which is copied by the middle-class families; therefore, it makes them poorer, and they suffer from a cash crunch. In conclusion, although it is a good idea for wealthy people to make purchases for fun, its demerits to families and societies cannot be neglected. Thus, everyone should bear in mind their income before spending lavishly on items.