Scientists are doing experiments on live animals for the purpose of research nowadays. Do you think advantages of this outweigh disadvantgaes?

Thousands of live animals have been sacrificed in many scientific laboratories in the name of science for over a hundred years. These experiments have been criticized among people, and I personally sympathize with the loss of innocent lives. Having said that I also believe that these tests being conducted contribute to longer human lives compared to the past. First, thanks to live animal experiments, people have been able to live longer. Notorious diseases, known as the Black death and such, have been overcome due largely to these practices. Thousands of people lost their lives before the invention of vaccines. These vaccinations were invented in scientific laboratories with the number of live animal experiments. Were it not for medical purposes, many people would lose their lives and would suffer from these diseases today. For example, the outbreak of Covid-19, scientists developed new Covid-19 vaccines in no time with existing accumulated data from the past. As a result, many citizens saved their lives through vaccinations. Therefore, experiments using animals could help human beings in the past, now and even the future. What we should not forget is there were thousands of live animals’ deaths to develop safer medications. Then, why people criticize this is that there are alternative ways to test drug safety, meaning that these experiments are no longer necessary. The advancement of technology enables scientists to do experiments using artificial tissues and using Artificial Intelligence to analyze the predicted side effects. Another criticism the tests encountered is that the test results are not fully reliable since the structures of animals and the human body are totally different, meaning that the test results are not proven to apply to the human body. Mice share a lot of similar organ structures; however, the side effects of the medicine cannot be predicted through the tests. For example, Covid-19 vaccinations side effects were not found in animal experiments, while it largely affects human immune systems. Consequently, live animal experiments are widely blamed. To conclude, although there are several criticisms about live animal experiments, I personally believe that the value of humans’ lives far outweighs criticisms of live animal experiments since humans’ lives are of the highest value than animals’ lives and these experiments shortened the course of the development of technologies.